Document Type


Publication Date



GEOTRACES, Trace elements, Isotopes, Electronic atlas

Digital Object Identifier (DOI)


The GEOTRACES Intermediate Data Product 2014 (IDP2014) is the first publicly available data product of the international GEOTRACES programme, and contains data measured and quality controlled before the end of 2013. It consists of two parts: (1) a compilation of digital data for more than 200 trace elements and isotopes (TEIs) as well as classical hydrographic parameters, and (2) the eGEOTRACES Electronic Atlas providing a strongly inter-linked on-line atlas including more than 300 section plots and 90 animated 3D scenes. The IDP2014 covers the Atlantic, Arctic, and Indian oceans, exhibiting highest data density in the Atlantic. The TEI data in the IDP2014 are quality controlled by careful assessment of intercalibration results and multi-laboratory data comparisons at cross-over stations. The digital data are provided in several formats, including ASCII spreadsheet, Excel spreadsheet, netCDF, and Ocean Data View collection. In addition to the actual data values the IDP2014 also contains data quality flags and 1-σ data error values where available. Quality flags and error values are useful for data filtering. Metadata about data originators, analytical methods and original publications related to the data are linked to the data in an easily accessible way. The eGEOTRACES Electronic Atlasis the visual representation of the IDP2014 data providing section plots and a new kind of animated 3D scenes. The basin-wide 3D scenes allow for viewing of data from many cruises at the same time, thereby providing quick overviews of large-scale tracer distributions. In addition, the 3D scenes provide geographical and bathymetric context that is crucial for the interpretation and assessment of observed tracer plumes, as well as for making inferences about controlling processes.


Complete list of authors: Edward Mawji, Reiner Schlitzer, Elena Masferrer Dodas, Cyril Abadie, Wafa Abouchami, Robert F. Anderson, Oliver Baars, Karel Bakker, Mark Baskaran, Nicholas R. Bates, Katrin Bluhm, Andrew Bowie, Johann Bown, Marie Boye, Edward A. Boyle, Pierre Branellec, Kenneth W. Bruland, Mark A. Brzezinski, Eva Bucciarelli, Ken Buesseler, Edward Butler, Pinghe Cai, Damien Cardinal, Karen Casciotti, Joaquin Chaves, Hai Cheng, Fanny Chever, Thomas M. Church, Albert S. Colman, Peter L. Croot, Gregory A. Cutter, Hein J. W. de Baar, Gregory Souza, Frank Dehairs, Feifei Deng, Huong Thi Dieu, Gabriel Dulaquais, Yolanda Echegoyen-Sanz, R. Lawrence Edwards, Eberhard Fahrbach, Jessica Fitzsimmons, Martin Fleisher, Martin Frank, Jana Friedrich, François Fripiat, Stephen J. G. Galer, Toshitaka Gamo, Ester Garcia Solsona, Loes J. A. Gerringa, José Marcus Godoy, Santiago Gonzalez, Emilie Grossteffan, Mariko Hatta, Christopher T. Hayes, Maija Iris Heller, Gideon Henderson, Kuo-Fang Huang, Catherine Jeandel, William J. Jenkins, Seth John, Timothy C. Kenna, Maarten Klunder, Sven Kretschmer, Yuichiro Kumamoto, Patrick Laan, Marie Labatut, Francois Lacan, Phoebe J. Lam, Delphine Lannuzel, Frederiquele Moigne, Oliver J. Lechtenfeld, Maeve C. Lohan, Yanbin Lu, Pere Masqué, Charles R. McClain, Christopher Measures, Rob Middag, James Moffett, Alicia Navidad, Jun Nishioka, Abigail Noble, Hajime Obata, Daniel C. Ohnemus, Stephanie Owens, Frédéric Planchon, Catherine Pradoux, Viena Puigcorbé, Paul Quay, Amandine Radic, Mark Rehkämper, Tomas Remenyi, Micha J. A. Rijkenberg, Stephen Rintoul, Laura F. Robinson, Tobias Roeske, Mark Rosenberg, Michiel Rutgersvan der Loeff, Evgenia Ryabenko, Mak A. Saito, Saeed Roshan, Lesley Salt, Géraldine Sarthou, Ursula Schauer, Peter Scott, Peter N. Sedwick, Lijuan Sha, Alan M. Shiller, Daniel M. Sigman, William Smethie, Geoffrey J. Smith, Yoshiki Sohrin, Sabrina Speich, Torben Stichel, Johnny Stutsman, James H. Swift, Alessandro Tagliabue, Alexander Thomas, Urumu Tsunogai, Benjamin S. Twining, Hendrik M. van Aken, Steven van Heuven, Janvan Ooijen, Evaline van Weerlee, Celia Venchiarutti, Antje H. L. Voelker, Bronwyn Wake, Mark J. Warner, E. Malcolm S.Woodward, Jingfeng Wu, Neil Wyatt, Hisayuki Yoshikawa, Xin-Yuan Zheng, Zichen Xue, Moritz Zieringer, Louise A. Zimmer

Rights Information

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.

Was this content written or created while at USF?


Citation / Publisher Attribution

Marine Chemistry, v. 177, part 1, p. 1-8