San Antonio Pool of the Edwards (Balcones Fault Zone) Aquifer


Link to Full Text

Download Full Text

Publication Date

September 2019


The Edwards (Balcones Fault Zone) Aquifer in central Texas is typically defined as having three segments: the San Antonio, the Barton Springs, and the Northern segment, which are separated by groundwater divides or points of discharge. The San Antonio segment of the Edwards Aquifer is defined as extending from east of Brackettville in the west to Hays County in the east. The San Antonio segment has been further delineated into two pools, the San Antonio Pool and the Uvalde Pool, for water management purposes. The San Antonio Pool is the larger of the two pools and is recharged by the Dry Frio, Frio, Sabinal, Medina, Cibolo, Guadalupe, and Blanco River watersheds, in addition to direct recharge and flow from the Uvalde Pool via the Knippa Gap. To a lesser extent, interformational flow between units stratigraphically above and below the Edwards Formation limestone also occurs. The most prominent points of discharge from the San Antonio Pool are Comal, San Marcos, and Hueco Springs. San Pedro and San Antonio Springs in Bexar County discharge during periods of high stage in the aquifer. There are limited numbers of additional springs in the Frio River watershed with limited discharge. Significant water is discharged from the Medina Lake and Diversion Lake (downstream from Medina Lake dam) system via conduits and surface flow to recharge paleo-alluvial deposits (Leona Gravel) in the Medina River floodplain. This discharge had previously been assumed to recharge the Edwards Aquifer, but it continues downgradient in the Leona Gravel and is lost to the aquifer.


Edwards Aquifer System, Karstic Aquifer, Barton Springs




The Edwards Aquifer: The Past, Present, and Future of a Vital Water Resource, Vol. 215 (2019-09-10).